About Us | Advertise With Us | Contact Us
August 27, 2014, 11:09 pm

American Music Awards airs Nov. 20

The 2011 American Music Awards (AMAs), honoring artists in the categories of Pop/Rock, Country, Rap/Hip-Hop, Soul/R&B, Alternative, Adult Contemporary, Latin and Contemporary Inspirational will broadcast live from the NOKIA Theatre L.A. at 8 p.m., Sunday, November 20 on ABC. 

At 7 p.m., ABC will broadcast a live pre-show, “Countdown to the American Music Awards,” hosted by Chris Harrison (“The Bachelor”/“The Bachelorette”) and Vanessa Minnillo (“Wipeout”).

For the fifth year, winners will be determined by online voting and Adele leads the field with a total of four nominations. Katy Perry, Lady Gaga, Lil Wayne, Rihanna, Taylor Swift, and The Band follow with three nominations each, and Beyoncé, Bruno Mars, Chris Brown, Jason Aldean, Kanye West, LMFAO, Nicki Minaj and Pitbull collected two nominations. The 2011 Artist of the Year nominees are Adele, Katy Perry, Lady Gaga, Lil Wayne and Taylor Swift.  

Orly Adelson, executive producer of the show and Larry Klein, AMA producer jointly stated, “The highly talented group that makes up this year’s 2011 AMA nominees have dominated the charts, airwaves and pop culture all year long. We are excited to congratulate and celebrate all of the artists on American music’s biggest night.”

Performers include Mary J. Blige, Chris Brown, LMFAO, Justin Bieber, Kelly Clarkson, Nicki Minaj, David Guetta, Katy Perry, Pitbull, Daughtry, Enrique Iglesias, Hot Chelle Rae, Gym Class Heroes, Lil Jon, Jennifer Lopez, OneRepublic, The Band,, Christina Aguilera, Marc Anthony and Maroon 5.

The AMAs will feature five unique collaborations which include the following special performances: Pitbull with Marc Anthony and Lil Jon, Gym Class Heroes with Adam Levine, with Jennifer Lopez, and Maroon 5 with Christina Aguilera, as well as Nicki Minaj with David Guetta, who are scheduled to open the show.

The star-studded list of presenters includes Queen Latifah, Jenny McCarthy, Joe Jonas, Avril Lavigne and Benjamin Bratt. 

In 1973, Dick Clark created the American Music Awards to pay tribute to popular musicians from various genres of music and to put audiences in touch with the latest phenomena in American music. Since its founding, the AMAs have honored and showcased the talents of some of the biggest names in the music industry.


Contact Tribune entertainment reporter Kimberly C. Roberts at (215) 893-5753 or This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. .