About Us | Advertise With Us | Contact Us
August 22, 2014, 3:49 am

LL Cool J to host Grammy Awards

Two-time Grammy Award winner LL Cool J, also the recent recipient of the NAACP Image Award for Best Actor in a Drama Series for his portrayal of Sam Hanna on "NCIS: Los Angeles," returns to host the 55th Annual Grammy Awards. All of the glamour and excitement of "Music's Biggest Night" will air live from the Staples Center in Los Angeles on Sunday, Feb. 10, 8 p.m. on CBS.    

"I'm thrilled to be a part of music's biggest night," says LL Cool J. "I will always have fond memories of my first Grammy Awards and to now be hosting the Grammy show, in the company of so many other incredible artists, is a dream come true. Great performances and great music - it's going to be a great night," he added.    

According to the network, LL Cool J (born James Todd Smith) has hosted "The Grammys Concert Live! - Countdown to Music's Biggest Night" since its inception in December 2008, and this is his second time hosting the annual Grammy Awards broadcast. He also joins the impressive list of performers including current Grammy nominees Miguel, Wiz Khalifa, Jason Aldean, Kelly Clarkson, Foo Fighters, Nicki Minaj, Dirks Bentley, Miranda Lambert, The Black Keys, FUN, the Lumineers, Zac Brown, Brittany Howard, Mumford & Sons, Mavis Staples, Carrie Underwood, Jack White, Maroon 5 , Justin Timberlake and Taylor Swift, as well as Bruno Mars, Rihanna and Sting, who will join together for a special performance.

Alicia Keys will also take the stage, as well as Elton John and Ed Sheeran will perform live together for the first time. Frank Ocean, one of this year's leading nominees, is also slated to perform. Ocean is up for six awards: Record of the Year for "Thinkin Bout You"; Album of the Year and Best Urban Contemporary Album for "Channel Orange"; Best New Artist: and Best Rap/Sung Collaboration (with Jay-Z, Kanye West and The-Dream) and Best Short Form Music Video (with Kanye West, The-Dream, Romain Garvis and Mourad Belkeddan) for "No Church in the Wild."

Appearing as presenters will be Beyonce', Ne-Yo, Ryan Seacrest, Dave Grohl, Hunter Hayes, Jennifer Lopez, Pauley Perrette, Prince, Carly Rae Jepsen, Katy Perry, Kaley Cuoco, Neil Patrick Harris, Faith Hill, Tim McGraw and Keith Urban.

In addition to the Grammy Awards, The Recording Academy presents Special Merit Awards recognizing contributions of significance to the recording field, including the Lifetime Achievement Award, Trustees Award and Technical Grammy Award. In the days leading up to the 55th Grammy Awards, will present the tributes to the 2013 Special Merit Awards recipients.

Motown legends, the Temptations will receive the Lifetime Achievement Award, presented by vote of The Recording Academy's National Trustees to "performers who, during their lifetimes, have made creative contributions of outstanding significance to the field of recording." Past recipients include James Brown, Nat "King" Cole, Ray Charles, Marian Anderson and Sammy Davis, Jr.


Contact entertainment reporter Kimberly C. Roberts at (215) 893-5753 or This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. .