About Us | Advertise With Us | Contact Us
July 13, 2014, 1:37 am

Pierce to play in Super Bowl with Ravens

Bernard Pierce, former Temple running back, will give the Philadelphia fans a player to watch when the Baltimore Ravens face the San Francisco 49ers in Super Bowl XLVII in New Orleans on Sunday, Feb. 3.

Pierce has done an outstanding job running the football in his rookie year for the Ravens. The 6-foot, 218-pounder, had 108 carries for 532 yards and one touchdown this season.

He had nine rushing attempts for 52 yards to help the Ravens defeat the New England Patriots, 28-13 to win the AFC championship. Pierce, ex-Glen Mills standout, averaged 5.8 yards a carry.

Since 1975, 12 Temple football players had made 19 appearances in 15 Super Bowls with 14 winning championship rings. Pierce, a third round pick of the Ravens, is just the sixth Temple player to advance to the Super Bowl during his first season. The last Temple player to get to the Super Bowl was linebacker Rian Wallace (2002–04) who won a ring with the Pittsburgh Steelers in Super Bowl XL.

Randy Grossman is the Owl with the most Super Bowl rings. Grossman has four as a tight end with the Steelers during the 1970s.

As a junior, Pierce became Temple’s all-time leader in rushing touchdowns (53), total touchdowns (54), and points scored (324). He also set the season records for rushing TDs (27), total TDs (27), points scored (162), and 100-yard rushing games (9), while setting game records for rushing TDs in a game (five against Maryland) and points scored (30 against Maryland). Pierce was a three-time first-team All-MAC honoree, the 2011 ECAC Offensive Player of the Year and 2009 MAC Freshman of the Year.


American Urban Radio names Black College All-American Team

American Urban Radio Networks announced the 2012 SBN Sports Black College All-American (BCAA) Team. They will be honored at the 39th annual BCAA Awards brunch and during the Black College Hall of Fame enshrinement ceremony, Feb. 16 in Atlanta, Ga. SBN’s 2012 Black College National Champion Winston-Salem State will also be honored with the SBN Sports Jake Gaither National Championship trophy.

Winston-Salem State quarterback Kameron Smith is the SBN Sports Doug Williams Offensive Player of the Year, University of Arkansas-Pine Bluff defensive lineman Brandon Thurmond is the SBN Sports Mel Blount Defensive Player of the Year and Winston-Salem State head coach Connell Maynor is the SBN Sports Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year.

The following players were selected to the SBN Sports Black College All-American Team: Kameron Smith, quarterback, Winston-Salem State; Daronte McNeil, running back, Elizabeth City State; Trabis Ward, running back, Tennessee State; Rico Washington, wide receiver, Jackson State; Travis Tarpley, wide receiver, Delaware State; A.C. Leonard, tight end, Tennessee State; Sherman Carter, offensive lineman, Tennessee State; Terrance Hackney, offensive lineman, Bethune-Cookman; Christopher Tolbert, offensive lineman, Tuskegee; Chase Varnadore, placekicker, Florida A&M; Brad Davis, defensive lineman, Elizabeth City State; Joseph LeBeau, defensive lineman, Jackson State; LeBrandon Richardson, defensive lineman, Bethune-Cookman; Brandon Thurmond, defensive lineman, Arkansas-Pine Bluff; Carlos Fields Jr., linebacker, Winston-Salem State; Keith Pough, linebacker, Howard; Bill Ross, linebacker, Arkansas-Pine Bluff; Vernon Marshall, defensive back, Alabama A&M; Steven Godbolt III, defensive back, Tennessee State; Kejuan Riley, defensive back, Alabama State; Malcolm Rowe, defensive back, Winston-Salem State; Bobby Wenzig, punter, Alabama State and Tyron Laughinghouse, return specialist, St. Augustine’s.


Contact staff writer Donald Hunt at (215) 893-5719 or This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. .